Completely Disappointed: Ablakwa Surprised as NDC MPs Vote For Nominated Minister


The Member of Parliament for North Tongu Hon Samuel Oludzeto Ablakwa in a post expressed his heartfelt disappointment at the results of the just-ended voting in parliament of the six nominees of the president of Ghana his Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Okudzetu is known to be a principled politician and philanthropist. He is known for unearthing so many rots in this current Akufo Addo government including the cathedral hullaballoo.

Upon the current economic crisis, Ghanaians expect the government to downsize its size but adamantly, they are piling more appointees. Hon Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa posted a philosophical quote attributed to expressing the pains felt at the outcome of the recent vote of the six nominees and the tremendous impact it has had only for him.

In the quote, he wrote ‘‘there is no knife that cuts so sharply and with such poisoned blade as treachery.’’

Just before that, on Friday, March 24, 2023, parliament approved all six ministerial nominees of President Nana Akufo-Addo for various positions including two supreme court judges after a series of heated debates hours into the voting process.

After several heated debates, the voting process was done and the final results were declared by Hon. Alban Bagbin the speaker of parliament. The speaker of parliament Hon. Alban Bagbin presented to the house that all nominees of the president had more than the minimum required votes of 138.

And out of the 275 members of parliament who were present and eligible to vote, three of the members of parliament were absent. And Ablakwa surprised as NDC MPs vote for Akufo Addo’s appointees.

Below are the figures for every six nominees for the various ministerial positions:

The Total eligible votes as cast were 275 and 3 MPs were absent.

Out of these, the total valid votes was stated to be 272


Hon Kobina Tahiru Hammond was nominated as the Minister in charge of  Trade and Industry.

Yes = 154

No = 116

Rejected =1

Abstention = 1

Also, another nominee was Bryan Acheampong, to be the replacement for the Minister for Food and Agriculture.

He was able to secure 167 yes, and 98 voted no. 1 vote was rejected and 3 members were absent.

Another appointment to replace the Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs as Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Minister for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs

Yes = 147

No =122

Abstention = 3

Mohammed Amin Adam, Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance

Yes = 152

Read More: Lady who Refused to Marry Boyfriend who Sponsored her abroad is dead with curse

No = 117

Rejected =1

Abstention = 2

Osei Bonsu Amoah, Minister of State for Local Government

Yes = 149

No = 120

Abstention= 2

Stephen Amoah, Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry

Yes = 146

No = 123

Abstention = 3

On related issues, the house is still deliberating and debating on whether to continue with the voting process of the remaining two supreme court justice nominated by the president.

However, among the four that were appointed by his Excellency Nana Akufo-Addo, two of them have been approved by Justice of the supreme court of appeal Justice Gorge Kingsley Koomson, and Justice of the high court Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu. Justice George Kingsley Koomson, had 139 votings “Yes” to approve while 133 voted “No” and also Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu on the other hand secured 138 “Yes” votes and 134 “No” votes.